Glennie

I went to Five Points for the Chili Cook-Off in October. I parked at a friend’s house. We were walking down Greene Street, next to MLK park.  Glennie popped right out onto the sidewalk in her cowboy boots and one-shoulder ruffle romper and invited me and my friends to her house next door. We all thought she knew one of us. We were strangers then. Nevertheless, we left her front yard, many hours later, feeling like she was our best friend.

The food and the drinks were offered freely at the slightest sign of interest. My friends and I shared grilled hot dogs with soccer moms, students, local policemen, and people from Glennie’s own family.  The only thing we all had in common was that Glennie wanted us there.

Her home is an old place that she is completely renovating.  She has built tables from mannequin parts and squares of glass. Her little dog recently had puppies.  Anyone who sat down got a lap full.  Every room has a theme.  Each one is plush with yards and yards of fabric and every door is unlocked to her guests.

You don’t even have to ask.  Just make yourself at home.

I like this photo of Glennie.  She is in her front doorway.  She is standing to one side to let us in.  She is giving us the tour.  I like the action. I used the rule of thirds and her body position to tell the viewer about Glennie. Hopefully, the viewer is curious.  I know I want to remember what she was saying to us!  The cup, her party clothes, and the people in the background add some subordinating details and give her more of a story.

I might have composed it better and the blurry bits frustrate me a little. I feel like I successfully captured a little of her magic, though, and that makes me happy.

If you are in Five Points this St. Patrick’s Day, stop by.  (Ask to see the apron like this girl did.)

Leave a Reply

