Refrigerator Box Photo Booth

You can construct your own homemade photo booth with your camera and a big box. Don’t forget the pimp hat because everybody loves a pimp hat.

Materials:

The Booth

  • 1 cardboard refrigerator box
  • 5 yards of black velvet panne fabric
  • curtain rod
  • fabric ring clips
  • x-acto knife
  • stapler
  • scissors

My equipment

  • Canon EOS Rebel XS DSLR with kit lens
  • Canon Speedlite 430EX II flash
  • Mini softbox flash diffuser
  • Tripod
Props
  • a toy ukulele, wigs and many, many hats (throw it all in, anything you can find)

Call your local appliance store and ask if they are throwing out any refrigerator boxes. I was able to find three. They are BIG so I suggest you bring along some help and a ride with lots of room.

I positioned my box with the flaps on top to make a roof.

Then I made three holes with the x-acto knife: one was an arched doorway, on another wall I made a small circular opening for my camera and  a square above it for the flash.

I set up my tripod and camera on the outside and pushed the shutter myself.

I lined the inside of the booth with the fabric (stapling it at the top) and used the curtain rod and clips to create a curtain across the archway I made.

The effect was great!  My Canon did it’s magic like it always does.  The diffused light was flattering, albeit bright and startling.

Being in a cardboard box makes people silly and they do things they wouldn’t ordinarily do on the “red carpet.”  A lot of people said it was their favorite part of the night.

Warnings, advice, etc.: Be careful to give your lens lots of room.  When the box got to rockin’ (and it will) the camera got some knockin’.  Bring a flash light.  Oh yeah, and next time, make it out of something tougher, like wood. That’s what I’m going to do.

You can get really fancy with a photo booth. This is about as basic as one can possibly rig it.

Construction of my booth took a couple hours, from concept to finished box.

I think the DIY charm of taking pictures in a cardboard box brought out the kid in everyone and made the shots even more playful. Awesome maiden voyage.

Leave a Reply

