La Cage aux Folles, Such a Drag!

I saw my first drag show at a club called Metropolis. It was located in a warehouse on Blanding Street in downtown Columbia.

It was the 90’s and the club scene was hot. The music was spinning on vinyl and the dancefloor was colossal.

My friend, Stephanie, and I got admitted free one night for wearing neon wigs. I used to dance with a massively talented kid named Dwayne who has made a name for himself as Milan, and worked on broadway and RuPaul’s Drag Race.

I was nineteen-year-old when I saw Dorae Saunders perform.

I love photographing people. The more colorful, the better.

I got the awesome opportunity to take these shots at La Cage aux Folles, put on by USC’s BGLSA and Carolina Productions.

This is the closest I ever got to a drag stage and it was like being in a fairyland of sequence and eyeshadow and patent pumps. Oh my!

Some of Columbia’s very best entertainers worked that night. Shangela from RuPaul’s Drag Race literally tore the stage down and danced right on top of the pieces like a delirious Barbie doll. It was a great show!

Leave a Reply

